1 December 2023

Arthur Christianen

Arthur Christianen - Max Planck Institue of Quantum Optics

1. Briefly describe your current position, research focus, and your role within MCQST.

I have been working for the past four years in the theory division at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics. I have recently passed my PhD, so I am now a postdoc. My research has mainly focused on ultracold quantum gases, where we study how many-body phenomena emerge in a bottom-up fashion, in a system which we understand and control microscopically. In particular, I am interested in chemical processes such as molecule formation and how these processes are affected by the surrounding quantum medium. I further enjoy developing novel theoretical tools, in particular variational methods, to describe such processes.

Man sitting on a bench, smilling, on a sunny day, in the MPQ garden. © C. Hohmann / MCQST

2. You participated in the Diversity in Leadership program. Could you share your experience with the workshops? What motivated you to participate or why do you think it is important to attend such workshops?

Diversity is very important, especially in academia, because viewing the same problem from different perspectives is guaranteed to lead to new ideas and enhanced creativity. However, diversity also brings challenges, since people with a different character, gender, upbringing, or cultural background may have different ways of communicating and different expectations of each other. The Diversity in Leadership program organized by MCQST provided great insights, first increasing our awareness of these issues, and second also giving tools to address them. I really appreciated the nuanced discussions we had in the program, highlighting that in many cases there is not one right or wrong way of action, but that being considerate and engaging in a respectful dialogue is key to overcoming many issues.