Participating Institutes

MCQST brings together two universities (LMU, TUM), two research institutions (MPQ, WMI) and the Deutsches Museum (DM) as core institutions of the cluster. The partners offer broad expertise in different fields of research, engineering and public engagement that complement each other. Additionally, various faculties and de­partments across different institutions are contributing to MCQST. Today, re­search in Quantum Science and Technology has become an inter­disciplinary effort between different fields of science and engineering.

Participating Universities

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

LMU Munich is one of the leading research universities in Europe, with a more than 500-year-long tradition. The LMU is committed to the highest international standards of excellence in research and teaching.

Technical University of Munich

TUM is committed to excellence in research and teaching, interdisciplinary education and the active promotion of promising young scientists. TUM also forges strong links with companies and scientific institutions across the world.

Partner Institutions


Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics

MPQ is one of 84 research institutes belonging to the Max Planck Society (MPG). This world leading institution in the field of Quantum Optics contains five divisions, four of which are active in the field of QST.


Walther Meißner Institute

The WMI, renowned low-temperature research institute of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities, has developed world-leading expertise in several fields of physics (e.g. superconductivity, magnetism, solid-state quantum systems) and technology.

Deutsches Museum Logo

Deutsches Museum

The DM is the largest and among the most successful natural sciences and technology museums in the world. The museum has a longstanding tradition in bridging the gap between cutting-edge basic research and an interested public that spans virtually all age groups and educational levels.

Accept privacy?

Scroll to top