Monika Aidelsburger receives Princess Therese of Bavaria Prize

15 July 2019

Together with other exceptionally talented female members of the Faculties of Natural Science at LMU, Monika Aidelsburger, Professor of Artificial Quantum Systems at LMU’s Faculty of Physics, receives the

The Princess Therese of Bavaria Prize was instituted by the eponymous Foundation with the aim of honoring the achievements and highlighting the careers of exceptionally creative and supportive female researchers at LMU Munich. The Prize is awarded annually to female faculty members with distinguished research records who have also inspired younger women to pursue academic careers. The Foundation was set up at LMU in 1997. It was named after the anthropologist and zoologist Princess Therese of Bavaria (1850-1925) who carried out field research in both Europe and America. She was an active supporter of higher education for women, and was herself the first woman to receive an honorary doctorate from LMU.

The six women chosen from LMU’s Natural Science Faculties this year will receive their awards, which are sponsored by the Heidehof Foundation GmbH, on July 19, 2019.

Princess Therese of Bavaria Prize 2019

Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics, and Statistics
Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini
Prof. Dr. Sonja Greven

Faculty of Physics
Prof. Dr. Monika Aidelsburger

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Prof. Dr. Lena Daumann
Prof. Dr. Olivia Merkel

Faculty of Biology
Prof. Dr. Kirsten Jung

Find our more about the The Princess Therese of Bavaria Foundation here (in German).

Accept privacy?

Scroll to top