1 December 2020

Ulrich Schollwöck

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schollwöck - Theoretical Physics at LMU Munich

1. Briefly describe your current position, research focus, and your role within MCQST.

I am a professor of theoretical physics at LMU; my general field of research is quantum many-body theory, and I am particularly interested in computational methods, mainly tensor network algorithms, but also more solid-state physics methods like dynamical mean-field theory. Applications are found in quantum materials as well as ultracold atoms in optical lattices. I was part of the writing team of the cluster proposal and am now, together with Monika Aidelsburger, coordinator of RU-G (explorative directions).

Prof. Ulrich Schollwöck sitting at his desk in his office. © C. Hohmann / MCQST

2. How does a typical workday looks like for you?

A typical workday consists of a mixture of teaching, research, and administrative responsibilities, both for my group and for the faculty of physics. I love teaching. Admin duties, albeit necessary, take up way too much time, such that research often becomes an evening/weekend activity. However, home office allowed me to do much more research than in the past! My dream would be to find more time to learn about physics outside my own field just to satisfy my personal curiosity, without any immediate goal of working towards a paper or so.

My dream would be to find more time to learn about physics outside my own field just to satisfy my personal curiosity, without any immediate goal of working towards a paper or so.

3. What was the biggest challenge you overcame/faced in your professional life?